I’ve had a life long love affair with books. Cue everyone who knows me or who reads this rolling their eyes and thinking “really wouldn’t have guessed”. It evolved from Enid Blyton to the very grown up Danielle Steel’s that I buried myself in at 13 and now scorn at.. I’d happily chew my own arm off then struggle through the sickly pinkness. And with every year it kept going.

images (4)

The hardest thing about doing book reviews is knowing where to start. Books are personal, one persons page turner is another’s uphill trek. I’ve moved house a few times in the past few years and it never feels like home until “The Shelf” is once again taken out of boxes. A collection of my favourite books,the ones that make me mumble incoherent answers at my poor house mates because “I’m at a good bit” , or simply stick in my bag before a bus journey. As much as I love sinking my teeth into something new I’m also a notorious re-reader and a select few books will be in any room of mine. So that’s where I’m going to begin.

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.”
― Oscar Wilde

Some of my favourite books have come from recommendations from friends. Often in a book store you are overwhelmed with options. There are so many titles swarming before your eyes that finding a glint between the coal stones is rare. You know that feeling where you don’t want an alright read you want a great one, and if someone could just toss one this way that would be great. I’m going to try. Let you know what I think on any of the comments. Come here to find new books, chat about your favourites and feel free to chip in with the ones that grabbed you.

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.”
― Stephen King

Let’s spread the magic.

world book day